Romain BOUCHARD, Domaine de l'Enclos - FRANCE / Millésime Bio 2020 Exhibitor


Could you quickly introduce us the Domaine de l'Enclos and your position within it?

Domaine de l'Enclos is a 29-hectare estate on the 4 levels of appellations of Chablis, from Petit Chablis to Grand Cru. We are 2 brothers, Damien and Romain, and created the estate in 2015 on the basis of the family vineyards and built a gravity-fed cellar with an underground vat room in a beautiful property in the heart of Chablis. I am Romain and I mainly look after the vines with my team of 12 people, my brother Damien being more oriented towards working in the cellar. We are certified in organic farming and have a natural approach of winemaking.


Can you tell us how your sales are divided between the different circuits? Who are your main customers? 

Our first vintage was 2016 so we have a recent history in terms of sales. All the more so as our first 2 vintages were very low in volume due to climatic incidents. Having said that, we already have a distribution network in development and the generous 2018 vintage has finally allowed us to conquer new markets. We still have a part of must sales to a few wine merchants but the proportion is likely to decrease due to the development of our bottle sales. France is our first outlet (35% of our turnover) with a clientele of restaurants and wine retailers through a few agents mainly in Lyon, Paris, Alsace, Savoie and Côte d'Azur. Our wines are on the menus of about fifteen starred restaurants and several well-known wine retailers. For the moment, we make very few sales at the estate. On the export market (65%), we are represented in about fifteen countries, the most important being the USA (several importers), the United Kingdom (Liberty Wines), Germany (Vinaturel), the Netherlands and Japan.


You participated in Millésime Bio for the first time in 2020. What made you decide to participate in this fair?

Millésime Bio 2020 was a very important meeting for us because we are in a development phase with still many departements in France and many export countries where we are not represented. And it's a big international trade fair that is very well suited to our strategy.


What was your objective: to meet new customers? Existing customers?  better understand the market?

To meet new customers and present the new vintage to our customers and agents.


Are you satisfied with your participation?

Yes very satisfied, we had 67 visitors from 14 different countries over the 3 days, we had no downtime and yet we were 2 at the stand!


Can you share with us your greatest commercial success at the fair, your best memory?

There are several of them even if the coronavirus has put a stop to business! Thanks to the fair, we have 5 new important export partners (Denmark, Netherlands, Quebec, Luxembourg, Norway) who have already placed orders. In France, we have about 10 new customers, wine merchants, wholesalers, agents, restaurants. We have many other advanced contacts which should unblock after the Covid-19 crisis. If we have to remember one commercial success, I would say the SAQ, the Quebec monopoly is very courted but the buyer came to our stand and liked our wines very much and now we are working together on 2 references!


What are your objectives for the next Millésime Bio fair?

Our objective is to meet new partners in countries and regions of France that are still untouched for us. And of course, it is always a pleasure to have our existing customers taste the new vintage.


I suppose that the health crisis linked to Covid-19 is a difficult time for you. Do you have any particular expectations linked to this situation?

Millésime Bio is in the end the only fair we have participated in in 2020, so the contacts we have had are precious. And we are keeping our fingers crossed that at the next edition, the wine trade will be back on a good dynamic after months of crisis.


Could you describe Millésime Bio in 3 words?

Simplicity, efficiency, conviviality


Presentation of the company :

- Date of creation : 2015

- Volume of production hL/Btl : 120 000 bt currently (potential of 180 000 bt)

- Surface : 29 ha

- Appellations : Chablis Grand Cru, Chablis Premier Cru, Chablis, Petit Chablis

- Range : 10 cuvées

- Distribution channels F / exp : France 35% Export 65%

- Number of employees : 15 people

- Website : www.domainedelenclos.fr

Romain BOUCHARD, Domaine de l'Enclos - FRANCE / Exposant Millésime Bio 2020


Pourriez-vous nous présenter rapidement le Domaine de l'Enclos et votre fonction en son sein?

Le domaine de l’Enclos est un domaine de 29 hectares sur les 4 niveaux d’appellations de Chablis, du Petit Chablis au Grand Cru. Nous sommes 2 frères, Damien et Romain et avons créé le domaine en 2015 sur la base des vignes familiales et construit un chai gravitaire avec une cuverie souterraine dans une belle propriété au cœur de Chablis. Je suis Romain et je m’occupe principalement des vignes avec mon équipe de 12 personnes, mon frère Damien étant plus orienté sur le travail à la cave. Nous sommes certifiés AB et avons une orientation naturelle en vinification.


Pouvez-vous nous dire comment vos ventes se répartissent entre les différents circuits ? Quels sont vos principaux clients ?

Notre premier millésime est 2016 donc nous avons un historique récent au niveau commercial. D’autant que nos 2 premiers millésimes ont été très faibles en volume à cause des incidents climatiques. Ceci dit, nous avons déjà une distribution en cours de développement et le généreux millésime 2018 nous a enfin permis de conquérir de nouveaux marchés. Nous avons toujours une partie de vente en moûts à quelques négociants mais la proportion est amenée à diminuer du fait du développement de nos ventes bouteilles. La France est notre premier débouché (35% de notre CA) avec une clientèle de restaurants et cavistes par l’intermédiaire de quelques agents essentiellement sur Lyon, Paris, Alsace, Savoie et Côte d’Azur. Nos vins sont sur les cartes d’une quinzaine d’étoilés et chez plusieurs cavistes reconnus. Nous faisons pour le moment très peu de vente aux particuliers au domaine. A l’export (65%), nous sommes représentés dans une quinzaine de pays, les plus importants étant les USA (plusieurs importateurs), le Royaume-Uni (Liberty Wines), l’Allemagne (Vinaturel), les Pays-Bas et le Japon.


Vous avez participé à Millésime Bio pour la première fois en 2020. Qu’est-ce qui vous a décidé à participer à ce salon ?

Millésime Bio 2020 était un rendez-vous très important pour nous car nous sommes dans une phase de développement avec encore de nombreux départements en France et nombreux pays à l’export où nous ne sommes pas représentés. Et c’est un gros salon d’envergure internationale très adapté à notre stratégie.


Quel était votre objectif : rencontrer de nouveaux clients ? des clients actuels ? Mieux comprendre le marché ?

Rencontrer de nouveaux clients et présenter le nouveau millésime à nos clients et agents.


Etes-vous satisfait de votre participation ?

Oui très satisfait, nous avons eu 67 visiteurs de 14 pays différents sur les 3 jours, nous n’avons eu aucun temps mort et nous étions pourtant 2 sur le stand !


Pouvez-vous partager avec nous votre plus belle réussite commerciale sur le salon, votre meilleur souvenir ?

Il y en plusieurs même si le coronavirus a mis un coup d’arrêt aux affaires ! Grâce au salon, nous avons 5 nouveaux partenaires importants à l’export (Danemark, Pays-Bas, Québec, Luxembourg, Norvège) qui ont déjà passé commande. En France, nous avons une dizaine de nouveaux clients, cavistes, grossistes, agents, restaurants. Nous avons de nombreux autres contacts avancés qui devraient se débloquer après la crise du Covid-19. Si on doit retenir une réussite commerciale, je dirais la SAQ, le monopole québécois est très courtisé mais l’acheteur est venu à notre stand et a beaucoup aimé nos vins et maintenant nous travaillons ensemble sur 2 références !


Quels sont vos objectifs pour le prochain salon Millésime Bio ?

Notre objectif est de rencontrer de nouveaux partenaires dans des pays et des régions françaises encore vierges pour nous. Et bien entendu c’est toujours un plaisir de faire déguster le nouveau millésime à nos clients existants.


Je suppose que la crise sanitaire liée au Covid-19 est une période difficile pour vous. Avez-vous des attentes particulières liées à cette situation ?

Millésime Bio est finalement le seul salon que nous aurons fait en 2020, les contacts que nous avons eus sont donc précieux. Et nous croisons les doigts pour que lors de la prochaine édition, le commerce du vin soit de nouveau sur une belle dynamique après des mois de crise.


Pourriez-vous décrire Millésime Bio en 3 mots ?

Simplicité, efficacité, convivialité


Présentation de l’entreprise :